Critical Illness Insurance

Critical illness insurance pays a lump sum either when you are first diagnosed with a critical illness covered by the policy, or after having a type of surgery covered by the policy. The lump sum does not depend on your admission into hospital or on your actual medical expenses. A critical illness benefit can be sold as a stand-alone plan or policy or be packaged into a life policy or as an optional rider to a life policy.

The types of critical illnesses covered may vary from one insurer to another. But most major illnesses and types of surgery are covered by almost all policies.

These include

  • major cancers,
  • heart attack,
  • coronary artery bypass surgery,
  • stroke and kidney failure.

Do note that:

  • The benefits are paid only if the disease or surgery exactly meets the definition stated in the policy. Definitions of diseases covered by a standard critical illness policy are fixed across all insurance companies in Singapore.
  • There is usually a waiting period for certain diseases or types of surgery. If any disease or type of surgery specified by the policy is diagnosed or carried out during the waiting period, no benefits will be paid.

Some critical illness policies pay a smaller amount for earlier stages of cancer, or make several payments upon diagnosis of different insured critical illnesses, subject to the sum insured or policy limits.


The above information is prepared in collaboration with the Life Insurance Association of Singapore and the General Insurance Association of Singapore.